When I was young, I was obsessed with Gone With the Wind.  I read the entire book in a day. Watched the movie over and over again.  Spent lots of time imagining the days when the Scarlett O’Hara’s of the world could fan themselves in the shade while time clicked by.

Needless to say, I am the furthest thing from the “Scarlett O’Hara” type that there could be.  Well, at least the version of Scarlett in the whole first half of the movie.  But when things got tough, the nitty gritty version of Scarlett is more my pace.

So, when I was remaking my dining room curtains, I couldn’t help by recall that famous curtain scene…only slightly modified.

No, I did not make a overly frilly, massive green velvet dress.

Just for clarification purposes!

Right-before-tearing-down-the-dress

Now, my version was not nearly as dramatic.  Here was my situation!

When I moved into the new house, I reused the curtains from my bedroom in the old house in the dining room for my new place.  The biggest problem I had was that the new windows are 79 inches tall…which means my old curtains were slightly short.  But since I refuse to give up good curtains, there just had to be a solution.

There just had to be.

IMG_20151029_221034045
So, these were the old curtains, and you can’t see it, but they are about 18 inches from the floor.

So, when I was painting, I remembered these curtains that I had made for the old kitchen.  I LOVED them.  LOVE them.  I made a point of bringing the fabric with me when I moved, because I LOVED the print so much.  Plus, I had only enjoyed them for about a year in the old house…not nearly enough time!

IMG_20140619_122639201_HDR
My favorite curtains…well one of my favs!

AHHH HAAA!!!!   Perfection!!!  I could combine them!

IMG_20160223_191012131

This is what we call in a Win-Win!  Saved and re-purpose both sets of curtains into something wonderful that would dress up the new paint job!

Plus, even better….FREE!!!!!  Everything was already purchased, so with a little elbow grease, they turned out to be amazing!

I mean, in my own humble opinion.

IMG_20160223_191021744

So, my old bedroom curtains + my old kitchen curtains = some awesome LONG new dining room curtains!

I might not have been able to rock out this look…but I’m still pretty thrilled!

GWTW7

Peace out peeps.

Remember, always be grateful 🙂

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Scarlett O’Hara, Eat Your Heart Out

  1. Love that you are writing it all! I hear you with GWTW and the curtains. I smile knowing i sort of know what you are going through with a century home. I’ll post the curtains I made back in the day for your amusement!

    Like

Leave a Reply

