Heeeeeyyyyyyyy out there!

So, this is a good one.  Get a delicious beverage (lots of options here!) and pop a squat…it’s about to get country life real.

I have a confession…last week I had a bit of a war with a couple of local field mice.

peering-wheat_1722150i

No worries, war has been won, on all fronts. On Sunday, I spent the day filling any potential points of entry for those wily, cute and disgusting field mice.  House sanitized, holes filled, ready to go!

I was feeling VERY confident.

Too confident. WAY too confident.

36 hours later all confidence was crushed.

You’re lost, I know.  Let me explain.

The biggest point of entry that I found was on the foundation of the laundry room addition (it’s practically brand new, being built in 1910).  I have no idea why this large hole is there.  But in my combat geared strategical brain, it needed to be handled. ASAP.

With steel wool in hand, I fluffed up 3 pieces of steel wool, wedged it in REALLY well, put a piece of slate to stabilize it and nice sized rock just to add a little umph.

**Stands back proudly admiring the security of my home, thinking I could outsmart any silly little field mouse**

Fast forward 36 hours.

Sitting, chilling and watching TV, both dogs were comfy on their beds, all was right in the world.  Until suddenly, both dogs bolted off of their beds, bee-lined through the dining room and took a sliding right hand turn into the kitchen.

I didn’t panic.

Their idiots.

IMG_20150609_155519344_HDR
Just look at those faces!

Until I saw them gearing up their hound dog skills, racing around the kitchen, sniffing wildly…like they were on the hunt for the filet mignon they thought I left on the floor.

Then I got concerned.

I sauntered into the kitchen…no worries right???  Why rush??

Until I hit the entry way and smelled….

WHAT!?!?!?!?!   NOOOO!!!!!!!!

download

Now, for those of you who have had up-hand and close experiences with a skunk, there is something quite amazing about their stink.  When you are close enough to it…you can actually taste it on the back of your tongue.  Your tear ducts will water.

Yep, it was THAT up close and personal.

2243266516_skunk_xlarge

Instantly, I’m trying to discern where this little stinky bastard is.  The dogs, I mean they are HOUND dogs, seemed to hone in on the basement door.  Let’s be honest, it’s not completely hard to believe that a critter, rodent or lost pet couldn’t find their way into my basement.  So, taking their cue, I just assumed it was in the basement. It also explained how the furnace was doing a fabulous job of pushing the skunk smell through the entire first floor.

I decided that there wasn’t much I could do about it.  Not at 10 pm at night on a Monday evening.  So, off to bed.  Too bad my bedroom smelled like skunk too!  Sleep was filled with dreams of them walking down my hallway and coming to snuggle in bed.  I wouldn’t even know the difference, just another black-and-white blob hogging the bed.

08-15-skunk20784-copy

Next morning.  My usual routine.  Running around like crazy, dogs out, pack lunch, make tea, feed dogs, start car…blah blah blah.

While I was outside with the dogs, I decided to check my hole I had filled.  I mean, the house was practically Fort Knox on Sunday…but any good sentry knows to make their rounds when in combat.

IMG_20160302_070408595_HDR

Well, let’s just say…the skunk wasn’t in the basement.

He most DEFINITELY was under the laundry room.  Apparently, after a 36 hour nap, he decided to wake up and take a stroll.  To which is promptly ran into a wall of steel wool…which pissed him off I guess.  Because he felt the need to voice his opinion in the form of his foul-smelling rancid defense odor!

So, moving on.  This house is no longer Fort Knox…well against mice it is, but not skunks. BUT, good news, I bet this story is not nearly over and will provide plenty of entertainment!!

3f5c9ead1bf86be16f4194a602503f13

Stay tuned for the next chapter on catching Petunia.  That is what I named him.  Yep, he can’t be a girl…then he could have babies under my laundry room.  But I like the name Petunia.

Peace out peeps.

 

 

Leave a Reply

