Well, I don’t know about you, but the holiday weekend was a hum-dinger, wasn’t it?

For maybe the 4th time in almost 5 years, I took Saturday off from my second job to go to my Momma’s family reunion.

I can’t lie.  I was only really excited about one part of it.

Seeing the family homestead.

FB_IMG_1464572478811

Ok, that’s a lie.  I was really excited to see family too.  Oh, and to eat.  For sure…eating is important in my family!

But, back to the house.  My Great, Great, x10 Grandparents built this place.  As my Grandpa B. told me, first there was a small one-room cabin, but then they upgraded to a tw0-story cabin before they finally built the current house in 1875.

Now, when the current member of my family moved in (about 8 years ago) it was in less than stellar condition.  It was suffering from the same fate so many old jems do….age.  Flat out, age….it was wearing her down.  Fading her beauty.  But then came along Cousin M….who saved her.  Hands down.

This home is STUNNING!

IMG_20160528_183103867_HDR

The farmhouse is so statuesque.  Bonus, Cousin M. has some serious style in her decor choices.  The entire house has been brought into the 21st century…trust me I was taking notes.

They have Central Air.

SHUT UP.

I know right???

I am jealous beyond words on that fact.

Oh…and jealous of THIS bathroom???? (hey Aunt Pitbull…you’re still safe!)

1A

At one point, 9 of us were just hanging out in there.  it’s so …so….charming?  Elegant?  Roomy?  All of the above!

This home is so tastefully done, I just couldn’t help drooling over her decor.  I tried to wipe most of my drool marks off of her furniture….but just look at it!

Not to mention, just all of the overall updates and structural repairs that had to be done to the house (there were years of strip mining damage to the house that needed attention).

So, this is my HUGE thank you to Cousin M, her husband and family for saving a piece of our family heritage.  How cool that our family has lived in this house for 141 years!

Just check out this photo from 1910 in front of the farmhouse!

IMG_20160528_192651199

With all of that being said, it was inspirational to see her back to her old glory.  She is back to standing tall on the hill, showing the world she could stand for another 141 years.  Without the people to love these old places and try to save them…their fate would be much worse.

So, thank you.  To each and every person who has fallen for the old house, barn, business or store front.  Someone…or many someones….probably thought you were crazy.  They might have even told you to your face.  But, if these walls could talk, they would be thanking us endlessly and beaming with pride to share their secrets with future generations!

There will be a Part 2 to this day….just too much fun to share in one little old post! Including the story about these little darling oinkers!

IMG_20160528_131542874

Peace out peeps.

Leave a Reply

