Hey hey everyone!

So, we have been busy lately painting a lot of really cool pets.  I have had the privilege of meeting some really cool people and I LOVE it!

A few months ago, I was approached by a friend who has asked if I would consider teaching a Paint your Pet type class.  It’s kind of funny, I had never considered it.  Ironic, given how much my life revolves around pets of some sort.  Honestly, I think I was scared of failure.  The fear of letting people down.  One of the primary goals in teaching classes was that people would be able to relax, socialize and truly enjoy what they created.  Pets seemed scary.

But I said, sure….let’s give it a whirl.  I had a ton of response!  Apparently, people really love their pets.  WHO KNEW?!?!?!

IMG_20170319_152552179

For the pet classes, I did manage to get my new easels made.  I was actually pretty impressed with these little guys.  1.  I made them from scrap materials pretty much. 2.  They actually seem to work pretty well!

In this class, I had a couple of newbies and I can not lie….I was super nervous for them, because I didn’t want to let them down! But as they started to work and I started to see their paintings come together, I got really excited for each of them.  As they worked through each of the individual challenges of their pets, I could see their excitement grow. By the end of the class, I can not express how happy I was with them!

By the end, I think everyone was thrilled!  I even have some who want to come back to paint the rest of their 4-leggeds!  “B” in particular has 6 more to go because she is a saint who works with rescues!

Thank you for your dedication my friend.

IMG_20170326_172826918

Also, if you happened to notice the abnormally high amount of injuries in this group…for the record…. they were all injured BEFORE they came to my class.  I had NOTHING to do with it!

For the second group, they broke ALL the rules.  Just had to put that out there.  I have never had a group of such intense workers.  We had a blast.  It was also the first group who actually asked if I had tunes to listen to….which melted my heart.  I am a music junkie!

This group also had some newbies….a few who were probably more qualified than myself to teach this class!  To see each of them work, it was truly cool.  The best part, regardless of each of their previous experience, they each made their own progress in their work.  It’s all about challenging yourself sometimes, weather you are a veteran at something, or a new kid on the block, push your boundaries!

IMG_20170409_172506845_HDR

So, after the marathon painting session, I can honestly say that I think everyone left feeling accomplished with what they had created.  I had one…and maybe two…who might try to work on theirs a little more outside of class.  I was promised pics of completed works!  Which was another first, but it was great to see their dedication to their creations.

img_20170409_191718365.jpg

Check out the photo bomb job from Beau.  He’s the best!

img_20170409_195941230.jpg

Here was another first.  They aren’t spoiled or anything.

img_20170409_190003322.jpg

 

I have noticed a couple of things about teaching these classes.  People tend to be very nervous to put that first mark on a nice clean canvas.  I think that idea applies to life in general.  Some of the greatest journeys have to start with a step and it can be terrifying.  Who wants to make the wrong line, take the wrong steps or ruin what they think is a perfect canvas?  But at the end of the day….putting that first mark on, taking that first step…can lead to something truly beautiful and amazing.  Take pride in the journey.  Love to results of process.  It’s just all little decisions that come together to make something wonderful.

Wow.

That was deep.

On that note…the hallway debacle is up next!  Ohhhhh, what a debacle it was…still is…lol!

Peace out peeps!

 

Leave a Reply

