As usual, months before I get a break from school, I start planning out what projects I am going to tackle.  Nothing was different for Spring Break.  Over break, the biggest project I wanted to get a handle on was the upstairs hallway.

I have officially done nothing upstairs.  Primarily because I literally didn’t know where to start.  It just seems like an endless stream of work up there.

But I knew I needed to.  I also knew that once I did, I would feel much better.

So, I start planning and hit Pinterest hard for some inspiration.

I first fell in love with this idea.

a8f999d7bf59a90371632a26fcd88f7f

But I also loved this.

2c7039f8af26483963c2be9b316d8287

So, I was faced with the challenge of combining these two concepts with colors that I wanted.  I have been trying to put up a picture rail in every room I have done, so I was so excited when I realized I could make the whole hallway upstairs a bit of a gallery with the two tone paint.

YES!

Here we go!

First was dealing with the challenges of painting on steps.  I needed scaffolding.  Do you think we could find the community scaffolding between the 3 houses that make up the “community”?

Sure couldn’t.

Well, not until about 2 weeks after I was done.  Thanks J-Town for that text.

But being the resourceful girl that I am, I managed to make it work!IMG_20170330_085204576

The one thing I always under estimate in a project is the repair work.  Especially in this old house.  I mean, let’s be honest, you could literally repair forever…and never get it perfect.  But I decided a long time ago, that I didn’t want it perfect.  I want the house to look nice and that it has been loved, but it’s scars….they are a part of it’s history.  So, I like the imperfections…plus, I don’t have that kind of patience.

In my head, I knew I wanted to go for more “period” colors, vibrant, strong and bold.  I knew I wanted to have a dark brown picture rail and that I wanted to be able to use the hallways as a gallery of sorts for all kinds of fun stuff.    So, with all of that in mind, I put together my palette of colors and got started.  I have to admit, when I first started I was super excited.  As I continued, I became progressively more and more nervous.

By the end of the work…I was flat out scared.  I even tried painting the runs of the steps, thinking it would help.  I couldn’t even bring myself to put a second coat of teal on to cover the patch work.  But knowing how much work had been invested, I decided to live with it for a few days before I made the final call.

Three days later, I couldn’t handle it anymore.  I tried to tell myself that once the picture rail was installed, it would be ok.  But it wouldn’t.  I literally could not handle it.

It was the Sunday before I went back to school and I was back at Home Depot that morning buying more paint.

I cried to Momma D.  I had never been that off in color selection.  Granted, I have been getting more risky in my old age, but all of them always turn out so cool.

Not this time.

Horrible.

So much teal that it almost caused a negative physical reaction.

So, I ended up staying the same color family as the ceiling, just a few shades lighter.  I have to say, I love it a lot more!   Plus, the neutral wall will work a lot better to use the hallways as a gallery.  I still got my teal steps…which makes my heart happy.  So, now that I have been living with it for a month, it’s time to finish the rest of the hallway.

Did I mention that the hallway is really big?

Baby steps.

One month until Summer Break….no worries, the planning is in full swing!  Lots of things hopefully will be getting done.  That is unless I decide to spend the summer swinging in the hammock.

Yeah, right.

Ok friends…have a fabulous Saturday!

Peace out peeps.

Leave a Reply

